2023 Rugby World Cup Host Contenders Confirmed by World Rugby

Source: Internet


France, Ireland and South Africa are the three countries in the running to host the 2023 Rugby World Cup after Italy withdrew its application last week after failing to guarantee government support for the event.

“I would like to congratulate the unions for successfully progressing to candidate status and we welcome further dialogue with all parties as momentum builds towards the selection of the Rugby World Cup 2023 host,” World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont said on Tuesday (NZT Wednesday).

South Africa staged the Rugby World Cup in 1995 and France in 2007. Ireland has never hosted the tournament, which will take place in Japan in 2019, the first time it has been held in Asia. World Rugby will unveil the host nation of the 2023 World Cup in November, 2017.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


seven − five =